~искусство the Lion kinG~
Ответить на тему  [ 13 сообщений ] 
СообщениеДобавлено: 03 окт 2005, 10:50 
dear visitor
dear visitor

(zdravo being Macedonian for 'hello' :) it's the closest thing I know to Russian)

As you can tell, I'm new to these wonderful forums and though I'm usually one to avoid self-introductions, I'll give it a shot here because I come here with a purpose - to improve my lion king art!

I watched The Lion King two weeks ago for the first time since I saw it in the cinemas during its debut. Since then I've rewatched scenes of it maybe 10-20 times, and somewhere along the line I decided to try and draw some TLK characters' faces/heads. I sucked, obviously, so I started copying from stills of the movie to try and figure out how the disney animators would go about drawing Simba or Nala from scratch.

I've done 15 referenced sketches and 17 unreferenced so far, and boy was I finding it hard to make the unreferenced ones look authentic!

And so here I am, thanks to a tracking-down of a fantastic TLK drawing of Sarafina's that I found on the net. Man - is she crazy or what? Crazy good that is, not crazy crazy.

Granted, this forum doesn't seem to be exclusively committed to C&C of TLK art, so I won't treat it as such, buuut I can't rule out relentless questioning of the artists on this forum about how they got to be so good!

P.S. this isn't a cold-hearted using of TLK as a tool for improving general sketching ability, I really do love TLK heaps :p (the original, mind you). I can't post any major art for about a month because of year 12 exams coming up real soon. It will come though!

СообщениеДобавлено: 03 окт 2005, 11:03 
pridelander
pridelander

Welcome to Pridelands! Please be as at home!
It is very good, that you are interested in a theme of art in TLK. I shall be very glad to look at your art when you can show it. Also I hope with examinations at you all successfully!

Or you fight, or take people for a ride. But only then do not complain.